Wednesday, April 30, 2014

before work

cold wet grey morning
robins break the sound of snow
new day out my door

Tuesday, April 29, 2014


rain and gravity
feeding the plants of summer
waking from their sleep


in every puddle
possibility for life
star light reflected

Monday, April 28, 2014

monday rain

stop lights in puddles
rain running up my wind shield
damp eagle waiting

Sunday, April 27, 2014

mee and the wood chuck is three

hunting for brown trout
I see a wood chuck ambling
the sun sneaks a peek

leeks, mmmm

soft earth and green leaves
slipping through the trees looking
treasures of the plate

Friday, April 25, 2014


on the rivers edge
 old man unfurling his line
a dance in sunlight

Thursday, April 24, 2014


shadows in water
hiding under riffles and waves
waiting for mayflies

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

100 haiku and the frogs

sound of frogs singing
the river jumping on stones,
fishermans silence

river trail

sunny April day
fishermen and garter snake
startle each other

Monday, April 21, 2014

I found an osprey

coal train rumbling north
old man river moving south
an osprey at home

Sunday, April 20, 2014

easter morning

orange sun, blue clouds
horses in mist covered fields
in the mallards wake

Saturday, April 19, 2014

freeway pond

rain slipping through clouds
pavement howling cars race by
white crane peeking out

Thursday, April 17, 2014

three little pigs play

parents pressed in chairs
little pigs and xylophones
my daughter smiling

trout magic

gold light, green nettles
white little wings cascading,
trout rings on water

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

walking the dog

tapping of water
droplets falling off my hat
 finally spring rain

No MOre

pretty in autumn
fragile snowflakes lightly fall
not so in april

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

after work

bare branches glowing
last river ice has fled south
eagle with halo

Monday, April 14, 2014

before school

monday morning rush
kids fighting with each other
bananas waiting

Sunday, April 13, 2014

last of syrup making

eagles circle pines
geese and swans yelling through grass
we tend the oak fire

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Waiting for the light

south wind blows spring air
spotted eagle glides over
cars waiting for green

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

APril wind

twisting trees waving
crows fighting into the wind
time to fly a kite

Spotted eagles

spotted wings flared wide

Tuesday, April 8, 2014


grinding tools all day
rivers running through my mind
filled with spotted fish

afternoon moon

half moon in the sky
pouring out puffy white clouds
sunny afternoon

Monday, April 7, 2014

My street

last bits of winter
snow fleeing down the gutters
spring sun in my heart


children playing games
late afternoon light warming
thunder birds circle

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Sugar shack

old creek creeping by
wood smoke and tree sap simmering
waiting for sugar

Saturday, April 5, 2014

fly shops

hackles hurls and hooks
long thin fly poles, floating line
browns brooks and steelhead

Friday, April 4, 2014

dinner party

Birds dancing in snow
vulture crashes the crows feast
feathers swirling up

thunder bird

closing on white field
wings held  wide, a great bird,
crows swirling, hawk watches

Thursday, April 3, 2014

birds at night

hazy orange lights
storm clouds rolling in the dark
birds singing to night


spring day, ice stones fall.
red tailed hawk facing the storm
where has the green gone

Wednesday, April 2, 2014


on the waters edge
waiting to fight the river
chasing little fish

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

silly nurse

phone calls of worry
bloody lip cut by ice knife
boy hood adventures

last night

  thick with
 w a t e r